Rocket Pool Review
Permissionless node operation, fully open source
of 10
Rocket Pool is a GPL-3.0 licensed liquid staking protocol where anyone can run a node without approval, staking 8 ETH instead of the full 32. Ordinary stakers can deposit from 0.01 ETH for rETH, though the README does not state the commission rate.
No money changes hands. This is a non-commercial project: no advertising, no sponsored placements, and no affiliate or referral links. Links to the services below earn us nothing. Every overall score is the plain average of the criteria shown on the page, so you can check the arithmetic yourself — see our rating methodology and how the site is funded.
Licence
GPL-3.0
Minimum stake
0.01 ETH for rETH holders
Node operator stake
8 ETH instead of 32
Liquid token
rETH
Operator entry
Permissionless, no approval
Scores
Each criterion carries equal weight. The overall score is the average of these 5 scores — (6.0 + 9.0 + 10.0 + 6.0 + 9.0) ÷ 5 = 8.0.
Pros
- Permissionless — anyone can run a node, no approval required
- Released under GPL-3.0, a recognised open-source licence
- Node operators stake 8 ETH rather than the full 32, widening participation
- Stakers can deposit from as little as 0.01 ETH
Cons
- The commission rate paid to node operators is not stated in the repository documentation
- Official documentation site blocked automated access, so claims come from the repository
- Running a node still requires 8 ETH plus technical competence
Permissionless is the whole point
Rocket Pool's repository describes it as a decentralised Ethereum liquid staking protocol and states plainly that anyone can run a node with no approval required, positioning itself as an alternative to centralised exchange staking. Node operators put up 8 ETH rather than the 32 a solo validator needs.
Open source, verifiably
The protocol is released under GPL-3.0. As with wallets, we score the licence rather than the presence of a repository — a recognised open-source licence is a stronger guarantee than published-but-restricted code.
The gap
The README confirms node operators earn a commission from rETH holders but does not state the rate, and the official documentation site refused automated access when we checked. A protocol this open about its governance publishing its commission alongside would score top marks here.
Who runs Rocket Pool?
Rocket Pool is a decentralised protocol rather than a company, launched on Ethereum mainnet in October 2021 and governed by its RPL-token community. That permissionless design is the whole point of the review's finding: anyone can run a node without approval, which is a governance choice built into the protocol from launch, not a policy a company grants.
How it compares
Sources
Scored from published primary sources rather than hands-on use. Every figure above comes from one of the pages below, on the date shown. Manufacturers change prices and specifications without notice — if something here no longer matches the source, tell us and we will correct it.
- 1.Rocket Pool — official repository README and licence — checked
- 2.Rocket Pool — introduction — checked
Frequently asked questions
How much ETH do I need to stake with Rocket Pool?
The repository states stakers can deposit as little as 0.01 ETH to receive rETH, while node operators stake 8 ETH instead of the full 32.
Is Rocket Pool open source?
Yes. The official repository is released under the GPL-3.0 licence.
Nothing here is financial advice. Editorial policy · How we score · How we're funded.